Quick Links

Useful Links

GSO Test

KS4 Health & Social Care

Key Stage 4 OCR GCSE Health and Social Care (Single Award)

This course should inspire and enable students to: understand aspects of personal development, and the health, social care and early years sectors through investigation and evaluation of a range of services and organisations, develop a critical and analytical approach to problem solving in health and social care and early years sectors and examine issues that affect the nature and quality of human life, including an appreciation of diversity and cultural issues.

The qualification is taught over two years and consists of two units.

Unit 1: Health, Social Care and Early Years Provision

This internally assessed unit will assessed via a controlled assessment task which is set by the exam board. Within this unit, students will study: the range of care needs of major client groups, accessing health and social care services and barriers to accessing services, the types of health and social care services that exist, care values that underpin everyday practice as well as roles and responsibilities of those who provide health, social care and early year’s services.

Unit 2: Understanding Personal Development and Relationships

This unit is externally assessed via examination. The focus of this unit is to help develop students understanding of normal patterns of growth and development, raise awareness of the different factors that can affect growth and development, consider the development of self-concept and different types of relationships, as well as the impact of life changes and sources of support.

The course will be assessed in the following ways:

Unit 1: Controlled Assessment 60 marks - 60% of the total GCSE marks.

Unit 2: Externally assessed written paper – 1 hour – 60 marks – 40 % of the total GCSE marks.