Quick Links

Useful Links

GSO Test

Changes to  GCSEs from 2017

From 2017, GCSE grades altered from A*-G to 9-1, with 9 being the highest. As well as the grade structure, new GCSEs are more rigorous and so comparison to previous years cannot be made. English Language, English Literature, and Mathematics changed in 2017, with most subjects following in 2018, and all by 2019.

For more information on the Curriculum, contact Mr Packard (Vice Principal), npp@themfg.co.uk

Ofqual have produced the following video to explain the new GCSEs:


Click here for more information published in June 2017 by the Department for Education for parents.

Below is the presentation and information from the 3rd February Parents meeting, and is relevant to all students from Year 11 and below.

  • PDF of the Powerpoint presentation. This contains general information about the Government changes and then the presentations from English and Mathematics
  • English and Maths summary. This document was first distributed at the Year 9 curriculum evening in January 2015, and contains further detail of the content for each of the subjects.

English and Mathematics will be awarded on a new grading system. The following diagram from the Government shows the approximate equivalence to the A*-G system. Note that the higher grades are more differentiated now.

The Government have provided the following approximations:

  • the same proportion of students who attained a Grade A previously will attain a Grade 7
  • the same proportion of students who attained a Grade C previously will attain a Grade 4
  • Grade 5 is the top end of Grade C and the lower end of Grade B
  • The top 10% who are awarded a Grade 7 will attain a Grade 9 (this is approximately 3% of entries)